Mike Krzyzewski reportedly to retire from Duke after upcoming season

The winningest coach in NCAA males’s basketball historical past plans to retire after the 2021-22 marketing campaign, in accordance with media studies.

On Wednesday, Stadium’s Jeff Goodman reported that Duke coach Mike Krzyzewski will retire after the conclusion of the upcoming season. He’s certainly one of solely 5 coaches with greater than 1,000 wins. 

Goodman reported that affiliate head coach Jon Scheyer is the main candidate to switch Krzyzewski.

DECOURCY: Duke misplaced large in 2020-21

Krzyzewski has been on the helm of Duke’s males’s basketball crew since 1980 and has turned this system right into a powerhouse. Beneath his management, the Blue Devils have captured 5 NCAA Match titles, reached 12 Closing Fours, received the ACC common season title 12 occasions and the ACC Match 15 occasions. 

His profession file sits at 1,170-361. Throughout the 2018 season, he handed Pat Summitt of Tennessee for essentially the most wins for a Division I basketball coach and the subsequent 12 months handed Harry Statham of McKendree College for essentially the most wins by any coach at any stage of faculty basketball. 

Earlier than the 2020-21 marketing campaign, Duke had reached the NCAA Match yearly for the reason that 1994-95 season. Nevertheless, this previous season the Blue Devils struggled to a 13-11 end. The three-time Naismith School Coach of the 12 months winner made certain that Duke completed the season with at the very least 25 wins in 22 of his previous 24 years on the helm. 

Krzyzewski’s teaching profession started as an assistant underneath Bob Knight within the 1974-75 season earlier than he took over as the pinnacle coach at Military the next 12 months. He led the Black Knights from 1975 to 1980 and owned a 73-59 file whereas at Military. 

Along with teaching at Duke, Krzyzewski has additionally been a coach for 5 Olympic gold medal-winning USA Basketball groups. He was an assistant on the 1984 and 1992 groups earlier than taking on as the pinnacle coach and main the crew to gold-medal finishes in 2008, 2012 and 2016. 

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply